Basic Eye Make-Up

makeupblog

Hope you guys had a wonderful, relaxing Sunday!

Weekends are usually carefree and fun, which gives you the liberty to reflect that in your make-up.  On the weekends, I try to wear as little make-up as possible and sometimes I just wear mascara (unless an outing calls for a more polished look).  It’s amazing what a few applications of mascara can do to give you that effortless look.

My absolute favorite mascara right now is Organic Wear 100% Natural Origin Jumbo Lash Mascara by Physicians Formula.  I haven’t tried the water-proof version yet, but two coats of this stuff and you’re good to go for the day.  No flakiness and lots of volume!  I’m a contact lens wearer and noticed my eyes constantly seemed red in the past.  I always thought it was the brand of contacts I was using, but when I switched to this mascara, the irritation went away.  It’s paraben free and does not contain harsh chemicals.  If my eyes ever feel irritated now, it’s usually due to allergies.

The Organic Wear mascara scored 1 out of 10 on ewg.org/skindeep/, which means it’s a low hazard product.  Now if you’re not familiar  with the Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep Cosmetic Database, get acquainted ASAP.  Whenever I’m interested in a product and have time to research it before running to a store, I visit their site and search for the product.  They have a rating system to help you determine the safety of your products based on ingredient concerns (overall hazard, cancer, allergies, and more).  Unfortunately, EWG doesn’t have the funds to research and rate every product other there, but you can search over 64,000 products on their site!

Another basic eyewear product is eyeliner.  I’m definitely an eyeliner fan.  I was initially using an eyeliner from Vapour Organic Beauty, but ran out so I just picked up Sante Naturkosmetik.  Both are low hazard products, which make me feel a lot better about what I’m applying on my face.

With that said, check out your favorite products on EWG and become more aware of safer alternatives.  You’ll feel a lot better when you have safer cosmetics in your make-up bag…trust me!

2 thoughts on “Basic Eye Make-Up

Leave a Reply

