Curls Are My World

In high school, my favorite hairstyles were ponytails and hair buns. Actually, they weren’t my favorite hairstyles, but because I couldn’t manage my natural hair, they were the easiest. I started letting my hair down, so to speak, in college, but still wasn’t satisfied with the gel and countless hair products I had to use to keep my hair frizz-free for the entire day. Little did I know, those were the very same hair products that were stripping my hair of moisture and not doing me any good.

When I landed my first job after college, I encountered another curly haired woman. This was exciting to me because most curly girls I came across didn’t embrace their natural hair and would straighten it all the time. But now, I was no longer alone. Her curls were bouncy and healthy, so of course I had to ask what her secret was. She simply said DevaCurl and the “Curly Girl Method“. When I tell you this changed my curly hair outlook, believe me, it did! If you’ve never read Lorraine Massey’s book The Curly Girl Handbook, walk, do not run, to the nearest bookstore (or simply download on your ebook, haha). I don’t think you necessarily have to be a curly girl to benefit from this book. You learn a lot about the detrimental effects of shampoo, for example.

I won’t get into too much detail about the book, but I will tell you that I do not use shampoo on my hair. I haven’t in years! I know it sounds disgusting, but shampoo is not the answer to cleansing hair. The sulfate found in most shampoo products strips hair of moisture…the one thing a curly girl needs. There’s the DevaCurl No-Poo method, which you can learn more about in the book, but as I noted in a previous blog, I used egg whites to cleanse before conditioning my hair and sometimes I use baking soda as another option.

Massaging the scalp prior to washing your hair is key to alleviating product build-up. I find myself just conditioning my hair sometimes (with no cleansing method) and my hair remains nice and healthy. If you have curly hair, you don’t want to wash it more than twice a week. Again, moisture is key!

curlyblog

Now DevaCurl products have “fragrance” as an ingredient, which is an ewg.org “no-no”, but I haven’t found another product just yet that matches up to the DevaCurl results. I use DevaCurl and Shea Moisture products. Stay tuned for more info on Shea Moisture in a later blog.

Aside from applying the right products to your hair, a healthy diet is also a must. Eat plenty of fruits and veggies. Beauty is not always what you see; internal beauty is just as important as external.

My favorite DevaCurl products:

  • One Condition
  • Set It Free
  • Angel (I’m not a big gel person, but if you follow the curly girl method and scrunch after letting your hair air dry, the results are absolutely amazing!)

Let me know if you guys have any other curly hair suggestions that are sulfate and paraben free.

2 thoughts on “Curls Are My World

  1. I’m a curly girl too, but I’ve never tried the deva curl range! Your hair looks amazing! When I run out of my hair products, I’ll definitely give these a go!

  2. Pingback: Say No To Bath Towels | Bashful Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

