Facial Routine

facialblog

Last week my cousin asked what I use to cleanse my face and I thought this would be great to share with you all as well.

I remember using all the wrong products when I was a teenager. At the time, I thought these overpriced, medicated products were the answer. I suffered from severe acne and now that I look back at it, I think these medicated creams and masques were irritating my skin more than anything. I looked to those cleansers and creams as a way stop my breakouts, but they left my face looking like a tomato and super dry.

My cleansing routine is all about simplicity. I still have skin imperfections, but I love the fact that I don’t want and don’t need to apply foundation every day.

My go-to facial cleansing wipes right now is Burt Bee’s Facial Cleansing Towelettes (Sensitive), which you can find at Ricky’s NYC or your local pharmacy/health food store. It’s free of parabens, phthalates, and petrochemicals.

I love my Clarisonic Mia 2 so much that I even travel with it; ok fine, it’s pretty small so I guess that makes it easier to stuff in my suitcase. It’s a little pricey though and I was lucky enough to get it as a gift from my fiancé, but it’s definitely worth adding to your facial cleansing routine. Generally, I exfoliate once a week since I have sensitive skin, but twice a week should be fine if your skin is oily and not as prone to redness and irritation.

Most of the time I used Dr. Bronner’s Lavender Liquid Soap, which you can also find at your local health food store and/or Ricky’s NYC, as my cleanser. I also like Tea Tree Soap by Dr. Bronner’s, but I’m not a fan of the scent.

As for moisturizers, I like to switch it up. Sometimes I apply Dr. Bronner’s Unrefined Coconut Oil (refer to my Homemade Hair Protein Masque blog for other uses) to my face and other times I use the Vitamin C Renewal moisturizer by Avalon Organics.

A lot of people concentrate only on the face, but please don’t forget to moisturize your neck. Don’t neglect it because a wrinkled neck can certainly age you.

Not only is it important to cleanse, exfoliate, and moisturize, but healthy eating habits also benefit your skin.  Another part of my beauty routine is drinking hot water with lemon juice (squeeze 1/2 a lemon) in the morning or just adding lemon juice to water later in the day. Lemon is incredibly detoxifying and the Vitamin C component is great for your skin.

3 thoughts on “Facial Routine

  1. Pingback: Make-up Remover | Bashful Beauty Blog

  2. Good to know cuz. I’m the one with severe acne prone skin; I too have tried many different cleansers that just didn’t work. I am now using Tea Tree Oil, from The Body Shop; so far I like it. However, I think I should try what you’re using because I have trouble finding the right moisturizer for my sensitive skin. 🙂 Looking forward to reading more about your everyday beauty tips.

  3. Pingback: Mother’s Day Beauty Buys | Bashful Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

