Say No To Bath Towels

microfiber

As you all know from a previous post (Curls Are My World), I don’t use “regular” shampoo on my naturally curly hair. Instead, I opt for homemade cleansing methods or sulfate-free alternatives from Shea Moisture.

Now I’m going to tell you that for the past couple years I no longer use bath towels to dry my hair. As an alternative, I turned to microfiber towels. I know it sounds like I’m going against everything we’ve ever known about hair, but adopting these changes into my hair routine completely altered the look and feel of my tresses. Better yet, I have a newfound love and respect for my hair.

I still use bath towels to dry my body after a shower, but anyone with curly hair, wavy hair, and I’m sure even straight hair, can really benefit from microfiber towels.  Microfiber towels minimize frizz dramatically. I also find that scrunching my hair with a microfiber towel really adds more definition to my curls and cuts the air drying time down significantly.

I first learned about these methods (no-poo shampoo and microfiber towels) from a co-worker at my former job. Honestly, I thought she was insane. No shampoo? No way! No bath towels on your hair? Are you kidding me?

Yet I’ve always been one to research and become more knowledgeable about a topic, especially if it’s something new to me; therefore, I Googled away and found Lorraine Massey’s Curly Girl Method to be quite interesting.

Curly girls, like myself, are known for trying every product on the shelf. I figured it wouldn’t hurt to give this tried and true method a shot…and I’m so glad I did! I LOVE my microfiber towel and even pack it in my suitcase whenever I’m on vacation.

My go-to microfiber towel at the moment is the Aquis Microfiber Hair Towel. No worries if you don’t want to go out and buy a microfiber towel just yet, you can use an old cotton t-shirt (100% cotton of course; no polyester) or a lint-free paper towel roll.

Better yet, the holidays are just a few months away, so make sure you add a microfiber towel to your wish list (if you can wait that long).  You won’t be disappointed!

 

2 thoughts on “Say No To Bath Towels

  1. I really need to start using micro fiber… I have one around somewhere but it is too small. I guess I could use an old t-shirt too but all the ones i don’t care about have polyester!

Leave a Reply

