Digestible Makeup

20140104-215954.jpg

Similar to most girls/women, I love makeup. It’s a fun way to completely transform any look and make you feel more confident. If you have a blemish, foundation and concealer are your best friends. Need longer, fuller lashes – hello mascara! But did you know that you can apply less makeup and feel flawless on your au naturel days by following a healthier diet.

One thing that I learned from Kimberly Snyder, a celebrity nutritionist and vegan, is that we have more control over the way we look and feel by incorporating healthier foods in our daily routines. Not only should we eat to satisfy hunger and our taste buds, but we should eat to give our body more energy, keep our hair healthy and shiny, and not feel bloated (just a few benefits of a healthy diet).

We’re accustomed to equating delicious foods and feeling completely full with complete bliss (at least in the Western world). We know that we’re supposed to eat salad and have portion controlled meals, yet salad isn’t a part of our daily menu. We think that we can eat an entire cake by ourselves and hit the gym the next day to burn it off. Ok, that last one was an exaggeration, but nonetheless, this is how we make ourselves feel better about eating junk food. Yet we don’t realize that the food we eat today can affect our health 10, 20, 30 years down the line. It’s not all about shedding the weight, it’s about our body getting what it needs to thrive internally and make us feel our best.

I’ve learned so much from Kimberly’s blog and two books (“The Beauty Detox Solution” and “The Beauty Detox Foods”). For example, proper food pairing is essential for digestion. Starches and protein don’t mix. Hot water with lemon first thing in the morning is a great way to detox before eating breakfast; and bonus, it’s also loaded with vitamin C. I also love her Glowing Green Smoothie recipe, which my fiancé absolutely enjoys as well. In my opinion, it’s better than caffeine.

If you want to learn how food can be beautifying, then I highly recommend checking out her blog, kimberlysnyder.net.

One of my favorite quotes from Kimberly is “Progress, not perfection”. In my culture, food is a celebration and I don’t want to lose that connection. I’m also not a vegan, but I’ve learned to incorporate more greens, whole grains, and nuts into my diet.

Cosmetics aren’t the only beauty tools. The food we eat gives us the power to look and feel good, and to live longer, healthier lives.

One thought on “Digestible Makeup

  1. You’re so right about food being a celebration. I love and enjoy food and I never want to feel like I am restricting myself. I ordered this book The Beauty Detox Solution recently and I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

