Curl Friends Confession with HoneysCurls

honeyscurly_feature

I’m so excited to announce a new section on my blog called Curl Friends Confession! I thought this would be a great way for my readers to get to know other curly girls out there in hopes of building their confidence.

Whether we like it or not, society says that straight hair exudes confidence, respect and acceptance (to name a few).  I recall feeling like I had to straighten my hair whenever I took a school picture or attended an event/party during my adolescent days. Though there’s nothing wrong with wanting to style your hair differently (and I’m not swearing off straightening my hair by any means), I think it’s important to be proud of the hair texture that you’re born with, because at the end of the day, your hair isn’t what exudes confidence, respect and acceptance — it’s you!

Now without further adieu, it is with great pleasure that I introduce to you…

Curl Friends Confession with HoneysCurls. As a quick intro, HoneysCurls is a vlogger with over 9,200 subscribers on YouTube.  I personally love watching beauty and hair tutorials and couldn’t help but instantly subscribe to her channel when I saw her beautiful curls, and awesome personality.

So let’s find out what she has to say about hair, makeup and more…

1. Must-have hair product for beach/pool days: Coconut Oil! Being out in the sun or in chlorinated or salt water can be really harsh and drying on my curls. If I know I’m going to be out in the sun a lot or be in the water I will put some coconut oil on my hair. It helps to add some moisture and protect against the elements! Plus, it adds great shine!

2. Favorite natural/organic hair or beauty product (if any): I recently became a big fan of line of products I found out about through Instagram. It’s called “Anunaturals.” They are all natural and organic products that a girl makes herself. My favorite is her “3C’s Conditioner.” It makes detangling my hair in the shower a breeze (and I have extremely tangly hair) and it makes my hair feel super moisturized and hydrated. Not to mention that it smells AMAZING, like dessert!

3. DIY hair concoctions you swear by: I started doing “protein treatments” on my hair using egg and it’s literally changed my life. I like to do two egg yolks and one whole egg and scramble it with some kind of oil (usually EVOO) and leave it on my hair for at least 30 minutes, then wash it out. It takes my curls to a whole ‘nother’ level! I usually do this about once a month.

4. Your celebrity curly girl icon: I love Tamera Mowry. She recently did “the big chop” after having her hair severely heat damaged. She’s always embraced her curls, which I love, and she has amazing curls at that!

5. One beauty routine you must do before leaving your house: I rarely ever leave the house without mascara. I have what I like to call “Ombré Eyelashes.” The roots are brown, but the tips are so blonde that they are invisible unless in direct sunlight. When I’m not wearing mascara they look super short, but when I put it on they literally double in length. So, I usually feel it to be a veritable must for me.

6. Favorite fruit and vegetable: I’m obsessed with blueberries right now, they’re like natures candy; so easy to snack on. As far as vegetables go, I’ve always loved cucumbers for some reason!

7. One location in the world that makes you extremely happy: The beach. Any beach.

8. Air dry or diffuse: It depends on my patience level, but usually I go for air dry.

9: Dry cut or regular haircut: I’m a strong believer in the devacut.

10. One hair accessory you can’t live without: Hair ties. I would die if I couldn’t put my hair in a messy bun.

And with that, I leave you with a HoneysCurls quote that truly sums up what Curl Friends Confession is all about:

Wearing my hair natural is so much deeper than just having curly hair to me. It’s representative of loving and accepting myself for the things that make me uniquely me. The things that I cannot (easily) change. When I straightened my hair all the time I feel like I was subconsciously telling myself that the way I really look was not good enough or pretty enough for the world to see, that I had to change myself to be truly pretty. So going natural is a message I’m sending to myself that I can be pretty just the way I was born. I hope that through my videos I can encourage girls to find the beauty within themselves and be proud of the things that make them unique or different. Not just on the outside, but on the inside as well. Maybe it’s hypocritical because I have a YouTube channel devoted to beauty, but I honestly believe that outward beauty is not what’s important, it’s the inner person that really matters at the end of the day. And it’s our differences that make the world a beautiful and interesting place to live.

3 thoughts on “Curl Friends Confession with HoneysCurls

  1. Pingback: Curl Friends Confession with Raffaella S. DiStefano | Bashful Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

